Tell me about yourself!
My name is Leeza Charles. I am 19 years old and I’m from the beautiful island of St. Vincent and the Grenadines. I am currently enrolled in a 4 year college in New York city.

Were you a slow transitioner or a Big Chopper & why? What was your journey like? 
I definitely did not transition, I did a big chop. It was an impulse decision and I’m glad that I did it. I had attempted to go natural before when I was in high school. I had a curly perm and I transitioned for a whole year, when I finally cut my ends off I felt disappointed. My hair wasn’t the texture or length I wanted and I relaxed my hair less than two weeks later. The whole time I transitioned my hair was constantly in braids and other protective styles so when I took them out I did not know how to care for my hair. I wanted to start from scratch so I could grow with my hair and learn how to care for it the right way.

Had you always embraced your texture? 
As a young girl looking at my mom with her long thick silky relaxed hair, it was all I wanted. I loathed my natural hair and pestered her until she gave in and let me change it. When I was about 14 I got my first curly perm and that was the beginning of the end.

How did family and friends react to your decision to go natural? What was your response to them? 
I big chopped on May 1, 2013 around 1 in the morning. I didn’t tell anyone I was going to do it and the next day I was bald. Everyone was shocked. They couldn’t understand why I did it everyone loved my relaxed hair, but it grew on them and shortly after two of my close friends joined me on my natural journey.

Describe your hair (fine or coarse, thin or thick, highly porous, low, etc.) 
I have about 3 different textures in my hair. The very back has very loose curls and is a bit fine about 3c. Then the middle of my hair the curls are a bit tighter about 4a and the very top of my head the curls are tight and my hair is very thick, I would say maybe 4b.

What’s your current hair routine? How often do you wash, condition, and style? Favorite products! Deets! 
I wash my hair once a week and I style my hair overtime I wash, usually a braid out or a twist out. I deep condition twice a month. My favorite products at the moment are Taliah Waajid natural hair line, it’s extremely affordable and just amazing. I am also enjoying the African Pride Natural miracle product line.

What’s your favorite hairstyle? Where do you get hairstyle inspiration? 
My favorite hairstyle is any type of curly fro, so anything from a braid out to a twist out. I like my hair big and kinky.

Who is your curl crush? 
I love watching youtube videos and some of my faves are NaturallyNellzy, Jouelzy and also Taren Guy.

How do you maintain your hair at night? 
I sleep with a silk bonnet. That’s about it.

How do you maintain healthy length? 
I make sure to moisturize my hair often, whenever my hair is feeling a bit dry I spritz it with water and I would seal it with about 2 or 3 drops of oil. I also trim my hair every 6 months about 1/8th of an inch. 

What’s the best thing about being curly? 
The versatility. One minute I can have a big kinky fro the next day I can flat iron it and have a sleek style.

Where can folks find you on the web? 
Well I just started making youtube videos so I’m hoping you guys support me and watch my videos and leave a lot of comments.
Youtube→ Leezasvg
Instagram→ Leezasvg